Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

The Wide World of Medicine (12 April 2006 - 12:06 p.m.)

I saw the neurologist yesterday. The first thing I said to him was, �I�ve been telling this story for thirty years, and it�s getting old.� He remarked that thirty years is a long time to suffer, and he would do his best to help me find some relief. Wouldn�t that be nice�

Neuro Doc took copious notes while I talked, and remarked that I was answering his questions before he had a chance to ask them. Um, yeah. I've had a lot of experience.

When I finished, Neuro Doc sat back and mused, �Well, these headaches ARE NOT migraines.� I wanted to jump up and shout, �Hallelujah!� I�ve been telling doctors that for YEARS, but did they listen to me? Noooooooo. As soon as they hear �headache,� they respond �migraine.� (After ruling out �brain tumor,� of course.)

Naturally, relief doesn�t come easily. I have to go back on Friday for an EEG. Then, on the 24th, I have to go for EMG (Eek Moan Groan) and Nerve Conduction studies. After that, I�ll be going for an MRI of the cervical spine. Since I don�t drive, all this running around poses a problem, but I�ll find a way, even if I have to walk.

After my visit with the neurologist, I accompanied Rebecca to her dermatologist appointment. We were stunned to learn that she has rosacea. Treatment requires laser surgery, which is not covered by my insurance, and costs anywhere from $300 to $500 per procedure. Ouch.

This morning, I paid a visit to my dentist. The coronation ceremony isn�t going to take place, after all. Instead of a crown, the tooth doc wants to go with Lumineers. I was sold on the idea as soon as I heard that the procedure is painless, and doesn�t require grinding or shaving of the tooth. Impressions were made, and I�ll get a call to go back in a couple of weeks.

Now if only this knot in my right shoulder blade would loosen up and the ache in my head would take a hike, I might be able to enjoy the rest of this beautiful spring break day.

Song of the Day: The Headache's Back by LA the Sage

last ~ next

10 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com