Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

It Was An Accident (02 August 2006 - 9:38 a.m.)

I�m supposed to be working right now, but summer school is closed today and tomorrow because of the intense heat. (Our schools aren�t air-conditioned.) This has never happened in all the years I�ve worked summer school. We have to make up the hours by working an extra hour every day. Grumble. Yet another reason for me to hate hot weather.


Leigh got a new car a couple of weeks ago � a new USED car, actually � a 1999 Pontiac Grand Am. She had to replace her Honda Accord because it runs hot, even after several costly visits to the service station. Also, the body of that vehicle is really starting to deteriorate. Panels are coming loose in a couple of places,



and there is some significant rust.



After looking around for a while, Leigh finally decided on the Grand Am. Naturally, she's been very happy and excited. She feels a lot more confident driving it, without the constant fear of overheating. And, it is a sharp looking car.



Yesterday afternoon, while Leigh was stopped at a red light a couple of blocks from our house, someone backed out of a parking space and right into the driver�s side of Leigh�s vehicle. There's a pretty good sized dent, and scraped paint (neither of which you see can very well in these photos, but this was the best I could do).






Leigh almost cried when she got out of her car and saw the damage. She said to the woman that hit her, �It�s a new car!� To her, it IS new. She�s only had it for two weeks.

The woman felt terrible, and was very apologetic. Another woman let Leigh use her cell phone to call me. I thought it might be a good idea to have an accident report, so I notified the authorities, and a police car was sent over. Now we have to make arrangements with an auto body shop and the insurance companies.

I know it could have been worse, and I am truly thankful that no one was hurt. Still, this kind of thing is really wearing thin. As Roseanne Roseannadanna used to say, it�s always something.

Song of the Day: Accidents Will Happen By Elvis Costello

last ~ next

9 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com