Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Giving Thanks (23 November 2006 - 7:14 a.m.)

I�ve been filled with such anguish, I couldn�t imagine what there was to feel thankful for at a time like this. Yesterday, I didn�t even bother to wash my face or brush my teeth, let alone get showered and dressed. I spent the day crying and �sweeping up the heart.� (That line came from a poem Bonnie thoughtfully sent to me.)

Fortunately, my sister, Michele, is having Thanksgiving at her house, so that will force me to rejoin the land of the living. And today I realize that I DO have much to be thankful for.

I am thankful for my husband, Daniel. He has been wonderfully supportive. This burden would be unbearable without his compassion and understanding.

I am thankful for the comfort I have received from my daughters. There have been times when they held me up both literally and figuratively.

I am thankful for the generous outpouring of love and support I have received from the online community, as well as family, friends, and co-workers.

I am thankful that Mark�s body was found, and I am thankful to the man who found him. He was off-duty at the time, but wouldn�t give up his search.

I am thankful that Mark was blessed with the good friends he had.

I am thankful for the overwhelming turnout at the calling hours. I am thankful that Mark was held in such high esteem by those who knew him.

I am thankful that my mother came to her senses, and apologized to her daughters, telling us we were right, and she was wrong. I am grateful to my cousin, who advised my mother to �get out of God�s way,� and let the rest of us do what needed to be done. Those words made an impression on her. I�m thankful that SOMETHING finally did.

I am thankful for my siblings. Frank acted as liaison with our mother when her daughters couldn�t deal with her any more. Michael was a tower of strength. He stood for six hours at the wake, and greeted every person in the line. Patti is the voice of reason and logic, and she helped me to make sense out of things. She was also a source of legal information. Michele is practical and nurturing. She hosted family gatherings, and fed people. I leaned heavily on my sisters for support, and they were always there for me. They still are. I couldn�t have gotten through this devastating ordeal without my beloved brothers and sisters.





Most of all, I am thankful for the thirty-nine years we had with Mark. I am thankful that I had him for a brother, and that my daughters had him for an uncle. He was a special child, and a special man.


�Book of Mark�
























This last photo of me with Mike and Mark is from Patti�s collection, and I am thankful that she is letting me keep it.




Happy Thanksgiving.

last ~ next

13 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com