Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Music Hath Charms (26 January 2007 - 3:14 p.m.)

It's been another rough week at work, and I'm so glad the weekend is finally here. Our attendance secretary's 46 year old brother died on Wednesday, after a long illness. My co-worker was hysterical when she called the front desk yesterday morning. She kept wailing, "He was my baby brother!"

Having recently lost my "baby brother" myself, that really got to me. It brought everything I went through right back up to the surface, and I sobbed my heart out. I hate crying in public, especially at work, but I couldn't hold it in. People were very kind, and I got a lot of back rubs and hugs. That helped.

On a more uplifting note, I'm going to see Monty Python and the Holy Grail this evening. It will be my 29th viewing of that movie. I'm looking forward to seeing it on the big screen again. I'll be going with my cousin, who also happens to be one of the people I first saw the movie with many years ago.

Another thing I have to look forward to this weekend is spending more time with LA. I think we're going to the mall. Shopping with LA! YES! I can't wait to see her again.

Finally, after I posted my ipod entry, Kathy made some excellent recommendations. She turned me on to The Eels and The Decemberists. This music is right up my dark alley. While I was visiting the itunes store, I saw that The Shins have a new album out, so I purchased that, too. Before checking out, I added some Ben Folds to the mix, also at Kathy's suggestion. (She makes gorgeous jewelry, by the way. My daughters are always borrowing my �Kitsch in Art� earrings, and now they're after the Eels and Decemberists CDs I burned. You're a real hit around here, Kathy! Thor, too, considering that he deserves at least partial credit for the tunes!)

Anyway, this is some good stuff, and I'm really excited about my new music. Since Kathy/Thor's recommendations worked out so well, I'd be interested in hearing other suggestions. (I think we've already got Pinball Wizard covered, Jane. )

I like a lot of different types of music. Just about the only genre I can't get into is country. I do like some of the classic stuff (Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, etc.) but that's about it.

So, please feed a starving ipod, and leave your recommendations in the comments section.

Song of the Day: A Slow Song by Joe Jackson

last ~ next

16 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com