Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Intimidation Tactics (01 March 2007 - 3:06 p.m.)

Last evening, I heard from an assistant principal who said she was calling to see how I was doing. I explained that I am waiting for the worker�s comp insurance company to authorize an MRI, physical therapy and pain management. My jaw dropped when she said she didn�t understand what worker�s comp had to do with anything.

I met with this woman and another assistant principal the day after the injury. I reminded her of that, but she continued to express surprise. She went on to say that work-related injuries require proper documentation. I assured her that I filed an accident report with the nurse back in December, the same day I met with her and the other assistant principal. Ms. AP then remarked that I have been out of work since February 5th, not since December, so she didn�t understand how this is related to the incident with the student. I was floored.

I have been in pain every day since December 13, 2006. I called my primary care physician on December 14th, but he wouldn�t see me because I was hurt at work, and he doesn�t handle these cases. Ditto my neurologist. I called my HMO and my benefits department at work. No one knew how to advise me. I was at a loss as to how to proceed, so I did nothing. After hitting one brick wall after another, I felt defeated.

The recent loss of my brother has left me in a fragile emotional state, and I haven�t felt up to dealing with complicated issues, such as this one. So I let it go until February 2nd,
when I finally had had enough of the pain (which had become more acute after I sat in an uncomfortable position in a freezing cold room at work for a couple of hours). At that point, I called the physician who performed my spine surgery four years ago, and I am now awaiting the aforementioned authorization.

In the meantime, my physician told me not to return to work until further notice. What am I supposed to do, disregard doctor�s orders? Going to work while I was in pain from December 13th through February 2nd could very well have made my condition worse. I don�t want to risk doing any more damage.

When Ms. Assistant Principal called yesterday evening, she informed me that I would have to supply a doctor�s note. I told her I would take care of it, and, first thing this morning, I called the doctor�s office. The receptionist said I would have to come in for an appointment in order to get such a note, even though I explained that I was assured at my last appointment that I could have a note for work if I needed one � all I had to do was let the doctor know. The receptionist insisted that I had to come in, and gave me an appointment for tomorrow at 11:30.

Shortly after that, I got a call from the principal�s secretary. She was calling to let me know that she had heard from the person who handles comp claims, and they need a doctor�s note TODAY. I told the secretary that they would have their note TOMORROW, as it was outrageous to expect me to turn in a note today without having received prior notification that a note was needed at this time.

I then called the person in charge of worker�s comp. She advised me that I only have 7 and � sick days left. I asked about the sick bank that I contribute to, and she said I would have to call my union president to find out about that. So, I called my union president, but she has not yet returned my call.

What bothered me most out of all these calls was when the woman in charge of worker�s comp mentioned that my claim might be denied because the injury goes back to December. What does that have to do with anything?? The fact remains that I was hurt at work, and have been out of work as a direct result of that injury! Why am I being put in the position of having to defend myself? I have been advised to stay out of work by a physician! Before I saw the doctor, I went to work. What did that get me? More pain!

She also told me that, if my claim IS approved, it could take a long time before the worker�s comp checks come in. I am very upset right now, and very worried about making ends meet. This is starting to be more than I can handle.

Song of the Day: King of Intimidation by Alanis Morissette

last ~ next

13 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com