Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Drama Mama (09 May 2007 - 8:32 a.m.)

My mother is an enigma. One minute, she is being sweet and considerate, and the next thing you know, she is being unkind and thoughtless. Her mood swings can be dizzying.

Yesterday, she came over to plant six azaleas. While she was engaged in that activity, I did some weeding. Even though I sat on a stool, the work was still backbreaking. I had to stop when both legs started tingling from the knees down.

My mother�s labor was greatly appreciated. In return, I colored her hair and fed her lunch. Shortly after we ate, I suffered a massive foot cramp. To further complicate things, I have a problem with the big toe on that foot, and getting a cramp in that area makes me see stars. To make matters even worse, trying to work the cramp out caused an agonizing chain reaction of shock waves throughout my pain-ridden body.

At one point, I let out a yelp. In response, my mother called me a �drama queen.�

I didn�t realize that expressions of pain are dramatic. Why is it expected that I should walk around in stoic silence? I am in pain ALL THE DAMN TIME. A little compassion would be nice. Instead, my pain is held against me, and not just by my mother. I�m sick and tired of it.

I�m also sick and tired of the medical runaround. On Thursday, I have an appointment for a pain management consultation. I see my orthopedic surgeon on Friday, and a neurosurgeon (for a second opinion, since the orthopedist isn�t doing anything for me) next Tuesday. Worker�s Comp has authorized an additional 18 physical therapy sessions, so I get to go back to the old three times a week PT grind. It wouldn�t be so bad if it was helping, but it�s not.

I should change the subject before I get accused of being a drama queen again, but there�s not much else to talk about. Not being able to stay on my feet for longer than ten minutes at a time is putting a bit of a cramp in my style, not to mention a damper on my social life. So far, today�s excitement consists of preparing a pot of beans for pasta fagioli.

Oh, wait! I DO have something else planned for today! I�m going to the movies with my cousin to see �Notes on a Scandal.� I hope sitting in the theater for a couple of hours won�t be too uncomfortable. Even if it is, it will be worth just to get out.

Song of the Day: Dancing Queen by Abba

last ~ next

8 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com