Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Ya Gotta Have Friends (28 May 2007 - 9:59 a.m.)

I had a fabulous time visiting with LA yesterday. Always a knockout, she looked even more gorgeous than usual, and tipped me off to a new foundation she recently discovered. It�s a pressed mineral powder, and, let me tell you, that stuff is magic. I�ll be adding it to my arsenal ASAP.

We also cleaned our makeup brushes, using a product that has been sitting on a shelf in my medicine cabinet for quite a while. Being a professional procrastinator, I�d never gotten around to putting it to use before. About a week ago, LA mentioned that her brushes needed to be cleaned, so I told her to bring them with her when she came over. We sprayed the cleaner on a paper towel and swirled our brushes around until the makeup was transferred from the brushes to the paper towel. It was actually fun!

Even better, LA created an intoxicating perfume for me using a mixture of essential oils, based on my preferences. My own personal fragrance! How cool is that!

I love having a friend to do girly stuff with, but that�s not all we did. We also went out for Chinese food. The cucumber salad was such a big hit, we requested that plate after plate be brought out. We asked for the dressing recipe, and it�s very simple � vinegar, ginger, sugar and Chinese hot peppers. The ingredients have to marinate for a while, and then you mix it up with thinly sliced cucumbers and carrots. To die for.

LA and Mick bought Daniel the perfect present � a double feature DVD with the movies Gettysburg and Gods and Generals. Even though he is Canadian, Daniel loves (and is very knowledgeable about) American history, and he could hardly wait to watch his new DVD. The birthday boy was very pleased with his gift, and I was glad to spend time with my fetching friend and her handsome hero.

There�s not much on the agenda for today, besides the bestowing of more presents and the eating of cake. (HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DANIEL!) I also need to get back to grading student �personal anthologies.� Since I�ve always been heavily involved in this particular project, but had to miss out on it this year due to my disability, I volunteered to help My Friend the English Teacher by grading the projects at home. To show her appreciation, My Friend will be treating me to a stuffed sole dinner at �our� restaurant.

The box of three-ring binders has been sitting forgotten on my dining room floor for far too long. The unbelievably poor writing (and failure of the vast majority of students to follow simple directions) was depressing me, so I had to put the work aside for a while. It is now time to roll up my sleeves and dig in again. It�s a dirty job, but somebody has to do it.

Song of the Day: Friends Will Be Friends

last ~ next

11 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com