Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Going Batty (10 July 2007 - 8:47 a.m.)

The reign of terror started early this year. Last summer, the bats didn�t put in an appearance until the middle of August. This year, our first visitor made its presence known on July 9th.

I was awakened from a sound sleep at 3:45 a.m. when Rebecca burst into our bedroom to announce that a bat was flying around downstairs. Daniel went down and opened the front door. We think (and hope!) it took the hint and went out.

Last summer, we called a Pest Control/Wildlife Removal company for an estimate. They wanted THREE THOUSAND DOLLARS to bat-proof our house. I took note of all the places the representative pointed out as possible entry points � inside and out. Then I had my brother, Mike, come over to do the inside sealing, at a small fraction of the cost. We didn�t get around to the outside of the house because I had been advised to wait until late November to ensure that the bats had left for their winter home. My brother, Mark, died in October, and bats were the last thing on my mind.

When I did give the issue some thought, I figured it would be okay as long as the inside of the house was sealed against bat access. I guess we missed something. Very heavy sigh.

I don�t care so much if the bats hang out in my attic, but I don�t want to share my living space with them. It�s going to be a loooooong summer.

Effing bats.

Song of the Day: Bats in the Belfry by Dispatch

last ~ next

9 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com