Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Oh My Aching Head (13 March 2006 - 9:40 a.m.)

Today is my TWENTIETH day with a �scary headache.� Over the years, I have come to refer to these headaches that way because: 1. they differ from other types of headaches (neuromuscular, sinus, tension, migraine, cluster, menstrual - you name it, I've had it), and 2. well, damn it, they ARE scary.

These headaches are debilitating. They affect my job and my home life. I am not able to function normally when under the influence of these hateful, heartless, hellish headaches. To add insult to injury, my neck and shoulder muscles seize up and add another fun component to the pain fest.

I was in such agony over the weekend, I spent much of Saturday and Sunday on the couch. Vicodin isn't touching the pain at all. This is truly a terrible way to live. I look forward to the weekends, and then I can't do things I want or need to do because I'm in too much pain.

I haven�t done anything about income taxes. I haven�t done anything about FAFSA applications. The house is a mess. Something has to give. Enough is enough.

A couple of people (one of whom is my massage therapist) recently suggested that I see an endocrinologist. So, after rising from bed this morning and coming to terms with the fact that I still had a headache, I decided to take the day off and try to see my primary care physician about a referral to an endocrinologist. While I was waiting for his office to open, I took down my calendar and tallied up the days I had marked with an H (for headache, of course). Here�s a recap:

November � 15 days with headache, 15 without.
December � 16 days with, 15 days without
January � 13 days with, 18 without (Woo hoo!)
February � 18 with, 10 without
March � the headache that began on February 22nd continues to date.

After I put the calendar back, I flipped through the phone book, in search of local endocrinologists. In a cruel twist of fate, I discovered that my primary care physician IS an endocrinologist. I�ve been seeing this guy for years, and all he�s good for is writing referrals and the occasional prescription if I should be in need of an antibiotic, or something simple like that. Since I can�t picture him giving me a referral to another endocrinologist, I might have to be content with a referral to a neurologist, although I've already been to at least three, none of whom were able to do anything. All I know for sure is that I need help, and I need it now.

I have an appointment with Dr. PCP at 2:45. In the meantime, I thought I�d tackle this meme I saw over at Mary�s place.


1. Name 5 of your favorite books.

The Brother�s Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky
My Name is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok
The Man Who Loved Children by Christina Stead
Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison
Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss

I also adore Stephen King, John Irving, Pat Conroy J.K. Rowling, Alice Hoffman, Ann Tyler, Amy Tan, and many others.

2. What was the last book you bought?

A Thread of Grace, by Mary Doria Russell, a recommendation from Mary. I look forward to getting around to reading it, one of these days.

I have quite a stack of books waiting for me, but first I want to finish Stephen King�s Dark Tower series. I am currently reading book 4, out of 7, and am really enjoying the ride.

3. What was the last book you read?

The Wastelands, book III of Stephen King�s Dark Tower series.

Loved it! Blaine the train is a pain! Hey! I think I'll name my headache Blaine!

4. Name five books that are particularly meaningful for you.

Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Charlotte�s Web by E.B. White
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
A Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

As a teenager, these books made such an impression on me, I read them over and over and over again.

5. Three books you are dying to read but just haven�t yet.

A Thread of Grace, by Mary Doria Russell
Drinking: A Love Story by Caroline Knapp
A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel

These are just a few of the many books on the aforementioned �to read� stack.

Song of the Day: Paperback Writer by The Beatles

last ~ next

17 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com