Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Time Flies When You�re Getting Old (24 August 2006 - 10:05 p.m.)

Summer school ended last Friday. I go back to my regular job on September 5th. From August 25th through the 28th, Daniel and I will be in Toronto visiting his family, most of whom I have never met. (I�ve only met his mother and one of his three brothers.)

Last week, I received an email from my mother-in-law, in which she said it occurred to her that I might be feeling a little nervous about meeting the rest of the family. Why, yes! As a matter of fact, I am! She tried to assure me that there is no need for that, but I can't help it. The thought of being a stranger under scrutiny, and an object of curiosity makes me a nervous wreck.

When I met my mother-in-law and one of the brothers during a trip to Toronto a couple of years ago, I was nervous, but it wasn't the same level of unease that I am experiencing now. This time, I�ll be thrust into a large group of people who are (understandably) curious about me. I'm afraid I'll be so tongue-tied, I'll come across as a blithering idiot. I know myself, and, believe me, that CAN happen.

There is also the fact that I am quite a bit older than Daniel. People love to talk about that kind of thing, so that's another reason for me to feel uncomfortable. On second thought, scratch that. I really don't care what others think about our age difference. It's nobody else's business.

Chronic pain is also responsible for some of my trepidation about making this trip. I never know how severe my pain will be, so that's something additional to worry about, especially since I�ll be sitting in a cramped space for eight or nine hours. Still, this is a good time to make the trip because I will have a few days to recover before I have to return to work.

While we�re in Toronto, I�ll be celebrating a birthday. One of Daniel�s brothers was born on the same day - August 27th - so it will be a joint celebration. I�ll be FIFTY-TWO YEARS OLD, and I do mean OLD.

Happy birthday to me.




Song of the Day: It�s My Birthday by The Vandals

last ~ next

17 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com