Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

The Doctor is Out (01 October 2006 - 6:25 a.m.)

Back in July, my neurologist wanted to put me in the hospital for IV therapy, in an attempt to break the cycle of my intractable headaches. At the time, I was working summer school, and couldn�t afford to lose a week�s pay. Therefore, I decided to wait until the regular school year started up, when I would again be eligible for sick pay.

I was scheduled for a return appointment on October 2nd. At the time the appointment was made, I mentioned that it fell on Yom Kippur, and asked the receptionist if she was sure the doctor would be in that day. She assured me that he would. This past Thursday, I got a call from the office announcing that the doctor would be observing the holiday, and my appointment would have to be rescheduled.

I was not happy about this, but there was nothing I could do. So, I asked if the office would be open on October 9th (Columbus Day), the only other day this month that I have off from work. The receptionist said they were open for business that day, but were already fully booked. Since they don�t schedule appointments after 3:30, and I don�t want to take time off from work right before being admitted to the hospital, I pushed for that date, and the receptionist squeezed me in.

The very next day, there was a message on my answering machine advising me that this rescheduled appointment was being cancelled because the doctor is taking off for the holiday! I am furious. It was an inconvenience to be cancelled once because the doctor decided to take off for a holiday, but to have it happen again a day later is unacceptable. I used to work in a doctor�s office, and we carefully went over the calendar each year, blocking off holidays so this sort of thing wouldn�t happen.

I�m so upset, I haven�t been able to bring myself to call for another appointment. I need to let some time pass so I can cool off a bit. Having been in the medical office hot seat myself, I don�t want to take my anger out on the receptionist, even though I do think she should have a better grip on the calendar. She should sit down with the doctors on a yearly basis and go over the holiday schedule with them. It�s not freaking rocket science.

I was hoping that writing about this would help relieve some of my frustration, but it�s just getting me steamed up all over again. If I can�t have a single day without pain, I�d at least like to have a single day without having to deal with some sort of complication. To be honest, that�s partly why I agreed to give IV therapy a try. I don�t expect it to work. Nothing else has.

I'm looking at the hospital stay as a way to get some rest. Sure, I know that hospitals are not the most restful places in the world. But, I�ll be packing my earplugs. And books. And, I�ll be lying down! With people bringing me food! I don�t care what it tastes like. What matters most is that I won�t have to cook it! Or clean up!

On the other hand, with my luck, I could end up with pneumonia, or some other hospital-related malady.

Oy.

Song of the Day: The Doctor Is In from You�re a Good Man Charlie Brown

Reading: Saving Fish From Drowning by Amy Tan

last ~ next

10 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com