Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Still Waiting (24 October 2006 - 5:50 a.m.)

Yesterday morning, we got a call from the Captain of the police department in charge of the search. He said they think they know where Mark is. Apparently, there was a drowning in the same area not long ago, and the body was found in a channel. That�s where they think Mark is. The Captain said they were going to go out at low tide to look for him. We never heard back.

I keep thinking, what if he�s not in the water? I realize the chances of that are slim, but it IS a possibility. His friends have been searching on land, but shouldn't the "experts" be doing that, too?

This is awful. And it just keeps getting worse.

Last night, the emotional pain was overwhelming. My grief was suffocating.

I don�t know how I�m going to get through the day, but I have to go back to work. I took an emergency personal day yesterday. Bereavement leave can�t be used until there is a body, or Mark is declared dead. There are no provisions in my contract for something like this.

Maybe it�s just as well. Sitting around waiting isn�t doing me any good. I have friends at work, and I need their comfort and compassion, even if it makes me break down, which I know it will. Kindness does that to me.

I wouldn�t be able to get through this if I didn�t have others in my life who are helping me carry this burden. Besides my family and friends, I�ve received heartfelt emails and messages from the online community, including complete strangers who have never contacted me before. This outpouring of support has moved me to tears. There has also been unexpected silence from people I thought I'd hear from, but haven�t. That really hurts. I draw strength from knowing that people care. Thank you all for being here. I am so grateful.

last ~ next

11 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com