Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Wrecked (24 October 2006 - 12:38 p.m.)

I didn�t do very well at work. Actually, I was on the verge of collapsing. An assistant principal came to talk to me, and, after seeing what a wreck I was, she announced that, in the principal�s absence, she was making the executive decision to send me home. That means I won�t get docked a day�s pay. She also told me to call in sick tomorrow. Finally, she held me, and let me cry in her arms. Her compassion is deeply appreciated.

That goes for a lot of others, as well. Many people sought me out to offer hugs and shoulders to cry on. And the English department is taking up a collection for gift certificates from several restaurants to provide meals so I don�t have to cook. I am speechless with gratitude.

When I got home, I called the newspaper. The person I spoke to informed me that he had only heard about my brother this morning. Interestingly enough, he didn�t get his information from the police, even though the Captain had told us that he prepared and submitted an article for the paper. The man from the newspaper said he never saw any such press release.

He assured me that they consider this to be newsworthy � important news, in fact. He took some information, and asked where I would be later this afternoon. I explained that I was going to my sister�s house, and gave him her number. He said the reporter who will be in charge of the story will be in touch with us when she gets in.

I�m going to my sister�s because Mark�s ex-fiancee�s mother flew in from California to be with her grief-stricken daughter, and she would like to meet Mark�s family. Tamica�s mother and brother adored Mark, and they are devastated. As Tamica said, to know Mark was to love him.

Tamica�s daughter has finally been told. She�s carrying a photo of Mark with her everywhere she goes.

last ~ next

10 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com