Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Rain Rain Go Away (13 January 2007 - 8:43 a.m.)

Well, that was a short-lived depression, thank goodness. The problem with the furnace was minor. Apparently, the filter was so clogged, the furnace wasn�t able to pull in air, so it sucked the filter in, instead. The cost was very reasonable, and, after the furnace was back in operation, I had a nice conversation with the plumber. My brother, Michael, had referred me to this guy, but it turns out that he (the plumber) was closer to Mark. I didn�t realize that they were such good friends.

Mr. Plumber regaled me with some endearing and funny stories. It was obvious that he needed to talk about Mark, and I needed to listen. It was very moving to hear this man speak so highly and lovingly of my brother.

Although I am delighted that the furnace situation was resolved with minimal trauma, that�s not what lifted me out of my downward spiral. The credit for that goes to the sagacious (not to mention scrumptious!) LA. Her phone call last evening, along with the solidifying of plans for a long overdue get together (which was supposed to take place this afternoon), did me a world of good. Not only is this woman wise and charming and thoughtful, but she�s FUNNY, as well. She had me shrieking with laughter.

Also, I feel so comfortable with her (even though I do admit to being a bit �star struck� � I keep picturing myself bowing and exclaiming, �I�m not worthy!�), I found myself sharing confidences that I discuss with very few people. I was even daring enough to let her in on my theory that my furnace was possessed by the same demon that inhabited the laundry press machine in Stephen King�s �The Mangler.� Her responding roar of amusement sealed the deal. This is definitely someone I�d love to hang out with.

Unfortunately, the bad luck clouds have opened up, and are spitting fat pellets of water upon my cursed head. I felt my spirits sinking again this morning when I awoke to a downpour. LA has about an hour drive ahead of her, and our plans involved even more driving. I�m afraid the precipitation will put a literal damper on our much anticipated get-together. I don�t like the idea of her driving all this way in bad weather.

Even if the game is called on account of rain, we WILL play ball. I just hope that it will be sooner rather than later.

�Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.�

Song of the Day: Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head by B.J. Thomas

last ~ next

8 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com