Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Penny Lane is in My Ears and in My Eyes (27 February 2007 - 9:06 a.m.)

The jewelry party on Sunday turned out to be a lot of fun. The best part about it was being in the company of my sisters, but I also enjoyed reminiscing and laughing with an old friend. Nancy and I have known each other since 1st grade. We went through elementary and high school together, and my daughter, Leigh, went to school with Nancy�s son.

That night, I made the mistake of staying up to watch the Oscars. It wasn�t my intention to do that, but, once I started watching, I couldn�t stop. I don�t know why I couldn�t turn it off, because the show was one big yawn. I really don�t have anything more to say on the subject except this: Philip Seymour-Hoffman and Robert Downey Jr. were having bad hair days, and Jaden Smith is a cutie pie.

Speaking of cutie pies, meet the latest addition to our family, Penny Lane.







Ellie (Eleanor Rigby) loves having a new playmate. She and Penny hit it off right away. (I had a hard time getting them to stay still long enough to take these few pictures.)





We�ve been looking for a mini dachshund for a while now, and a recent ad in the Pennysaver led us to a veterinary clinic in Bedford. Leigh and I drove down there yesterday and became real �Penny savers.� Although Penny is not a rescue dog in the usual sense, she is the result of a broken home. Fortunately, she seems to be settling in nicely.

This is Leigh's dog, by the way. Ever since she was a little girl, she's wanted a doxie. She used to go around the house singing: "Leigh wants a dachshund, just a little dachshund." At long last, her wish has come true. However, responsibility has to be part of the puppy package. She has to pay for the dog's vet care, etc. This morning, she had to get up at 5:00 a.m. to take Penny out, and she did it without complaint.

I'm hoping Leigh will learn some good life lessons by having this puppy dependent on her. And I had been wanting to get a friend for Ellie, anyway. So far, things are working out just fine. Let's hope it stays that way.

I have to get some stuff done around the house today, so I�d better get moving before this day slips away from me the same way so many others have.

Song of the Day: Penny Lane by The Beatles

last ~ next

16 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com