Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Holding Back The Years (23 March 2007 - 9:08 a.m.)

I received word yesterday that the Worker�s Comp Insurance Company has authorized pain management. There are two problems.

1. Additional taxi expense.

2. I don�t know how I�m going to fit that into my already overburdened schedule. Here�s a peek at next week�s agenda just to give you an idea of how crazy things are getting:

Monday � Physical Therapy. Tuesday � Independent medical examination. Wednesday � appointment with my doctor. Thursday and Friday � Physical Therapy.


It strikes me as odd that a person who is 100% disabled (even temporarily) is expected to do all this running around. As a result of such a hectic pace, I�m sore and grouchy and very, very tired. To add insult to injury, I feel a �scary headache� coming on. That�s always the straw that breaks this camel�s back.

At least I�m enjoying the moist heat treatment at physical therapy. God, that feels good. I also enjoyed an unexpected compliment during the initial interview.

The physical therapist asked the ages of my children. When I answered that they are 19 and 20, she did a double take, and asked how old I am. Upon hearing that I am 52 years old, Ms. PT's eyes widened, and she exclaimed, �You look great!� That made me FEEL great.

Flattery can work wonders sometimes, especially considering that I�ve been feeling like an old lady lately because of all the aches and pains. It�s nice to know that I�m still �holding back the years� in some ways.


In closing, I�ll leave you with this. It cracked me up:

Teaching Math In 1950

A logger sells a truckload of lumber for $100. His cost of production is 4/5 of the price. What is his profit?

Teaching Math In 1960

A logger sells a truckload of lumber for $100. His cost of production is 4/5 of the price, or $80. What is his profit?

Teaching Math In 1970

A logger sells a truckload of lumber for $100. His cost of production is $80. Did he make a profit?

Teaching Math In 1980

A logger sells a truckload of lumber for $100. His cost of production is $80 and his profit is $20 Your assignment: Underline the number 20.

Teaching Math In 1990

A logger cuts down a beautiful forest because he is selfish and inconsiderate and cares nothing for the habitat of animals or the preservation of our woodlands. He does this so he can make a profit of $20. What do you think of this way of making a living? Topic for class participation after answering the question: How did the birds and squirrels feel as the logger cut down their homes? (There are no wrong answers.)

Teaching Math In 2010

Un ranchero vende una carretera de maderapara $100. El cuesto de la produccion era $80. Cuantos tortillas se puede comprar?

Song of the Day: Holding Back the Years by Simply Red

last ~ next

8 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com