Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

A Fine Kettle of Fish (07 April 2007 - 8:33 a.m.)

In yesterday's mail, I received a copy of the Practitioner's Report of Independent Medical Exam. As I read the report, a couple of things popped out at me.

1. MRI review: Shows some pathology at L3-4, L4-5, and L5-S1 with disc bulging. It appears to be greater at L3-4.

This is the first I've heard of that.

2. Conclusions: The claimant is in my opinion not able to return to work providing she does any lifting or bending. (My job requires CONSTANT bending.) She should avoid repetitive forward bending and lifting, but could work with students within these restrictions. I believe prior to returning to work, she should have further physical therapy. She should have physical therapy three times a week for six weeks, and then twice a week for another two weeks. At the conclusion of this, I believe she should be able to return to modified work as discussed above. I cannot at this time, with any reasonable degree of accuracy, forecast when the maximum medical improvement will be achieved.

I am dumbfounded.

Let me point out that, in Worker's Comp cases, the treating physician is the ally and the independent medical examiner is the adversary. Keeping that in mind, can someone please explain to me why MY doctor is sending me back to work (in an unrestricted capacity, no less), while the independent medical examiner is recommending that I not return to work until I have completed 22 physical therapy sessions, and even then I should return with modifications?

There is something very wrong with this picture.

As soon as I submit this entry, I'm going to fax a copy of the independent medical report to my doctor and my attorney, with the above details circled. I am going to express my confusion and my displeasure. Unfortunately, it's too late to have the issue of me going back to work resolved satisfactorily. According to the note from my doctor (which was sent to the Worker's Comp Insurance Company and my employer), I must return on Tuesday. This really sucks.

After I send the faxes, I have to scramble to get ready to go out with my sister. We're going to bring flowers to our grandmother for Easter. If you celebrate the holiday, have a happy one.

Song of the Day: What's Wrong With This Picture by Van Morrison

"What�s wrong with this picture? There�s something I�m not seeing here. What�s wrong with this picture? Something that�s not exactly clear. What�s wrong with this picture? Does it look like it�s just another sting? �Cos it don�t mean a thing If it ain�t got that swing and ring a ding ding."

last ~ next

11 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com