Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

Too Close For Comfort (28 April 2007 - 6:52 p.m.)

Yet another young life has been cut short. Last night, there was a fight at a Sunoco Mart, which is located just a few blocks from my house. When the police arrived, they found a 22-year-old male suffering from a stab wound to the chest.

The article I read this morning didn�t name the victim, but I had a very strong feeling that I knew him. As it turns out, I did. Not only was he a former student at the high school where I work, but he was also Rebecca�s first boyfriend, back when she was in 8th grade. I also know other members of his family, one of whom attended the services for my brother, Mark.

Rebecca got the story straight from a friend who was a witness to the stabbing, and had been involved in the altercation that led up to it. Apparently, The Witness and a female friend were standing near The Victim�s car, talking to him and his brother. Another car pulled in, alarmingly close to The Victim�s vehicle. The group of friends looked at the driver in disbelief. He got out and yelled, �What the fuck are you doing looking in my car??� The Witness said something, and The Murderer punched him. Then he punched The Witness�s female friend.

A fight ensued. The Witness told Rebecca he thought it was over, and they had started to walk away when he heard The Victim scream, �He stabbed me!!� The Witness and The Victim�s brother pulled the wounded young man into the Sunoco Mart. The Murderer took off in his car, but not before The Female Friend got the license plate number. The Victim was brought to the hospital, where he died a short time later. His two young children are now fatherless, and his wife is now a widow.

Before his arrest, The Murderer returned to his residence, which just happens to be a condo in the same place where my grandmother lives. My ex-husband, too. In fact, The Murderer lives just two units away from The Ex, who once had a very unpleasant confrontation with this man, as have others who live there.

As bad luck would have it, Rebecca and Leigh were at their father�s condo at the time. The Ex is away for the weekend, and they were looking after his dog. One of their friends was parked in The Murderer�s space. The Murderer knocked on the door of the condo WITH BOTH OF MY DAUGHTERS INSIDE. Two of their friends (one of whom is Leigh's boyfriend) opened the door, and the maniac yelled, �Why the fuck are you parked in my space??� The guilty party apologized and said he didn�t realize he had taken a reserved spot, and would move his car immediately.

Of course, none of them knew that this madman had just killed someone (over another parking issue, I might add). They�re lucky he didn�t kill any (or all) of them, as well.

I am sick at heart over this. It keeps hitting closer and closer to home, which is way too close for comfort.

Song of the Day: Too Close For Comfort by Nitty Gritty Dirt Band

last ~ next

13 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com