Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah


Yakety Yak Blah Blah Blah Blah

New
Old
profile
Links
Private
email
Host

One Foot in the Door (23 June 2007 - 8:11 a.m.)

Well, I�ve taken one step forward in correcting a medical problem. Unfortunately, it�s not related to my back or shoulder. It�s my feet.

I�m talking about hammertoe surgery. My left foot will go under the knife on July 23rd. My right foot will have to wait a couple of months after the first surgery.

I�m not looking forward to this at all. I already had this same operation many years ago. It was performed by the orthopedic surgeons I worked for at the time. In reference to that, my podiatrist said, �I wouldn�t try to set a broken arm. Orthopedic surgeons shouldn�t mess around with feet.� I am living proof that he is correct.

I once walked on a broken leg, and went through two natural childbirths. I am no stranger to pain. I must say, though, that the hammertoe surgery was a new adventure in agony.

It was supposed to be same-day surgery, but I ended up being hospitalized for FIVE DAYS. I was on morphine, and a ban on visitors was imposed because I was in so much pain. The podiatrist assures me that it won�t be like that this time. Let�s hope he�s right.

Even though this surgery isn�t related to my spine, I�m hoping it will help my back. Because of the hammertoes, I have a chronic callus on my left foot (the toe abnormality is worse on that side). My foot pain affects the way I walk. Compensating for pain in one area often causes problems in other areas.

In reference to my back, Worker�s Comp finally authorized a series of 3 lumbar epidural and bilateral sacrolliac injections (after receiving a letter from my attorney asking what the delay was). However, there has been a new development since the pain management doctor requested authorization for the injections.

The neurosurgeon wants me to go for a myelogram, and he thinks I might need surgery. If that is the case, I don�t see the point in going for the injections. (It�s an unpleasant procedure.) In the meantime, I�m waiting for authorization for the myelogram.

This Worker�s Comp stuff is for the birds. The lengthy delays in authorization in turn cause a delay in treatment. I was injured in December. I�ve been doctoring since February. The only �treatment� I�ve had is physical therapy, but there has been no improvement in my condition.

Now consider my feet. I first saw the podiatrist on June 14th. X-rays were taken, and I returned for follow-up on the 21st. Surgery was scheduled. THAT�S the way it SHOULD be.

By the way, even though physical therapy isn�t helping, it DOES provide amusement now and then. Yesterday, I got hit on. I�ve seen The Guy a few times, and we�ve engaged in casual conversation. His eyes lit up and he gave me a big smile and a hearty �Hello, Stephanie!� when I walked into the gym area. I thought to myself, �Uh oh.�

I finished before he did, and went outside to wait for the Dial-A-Ride bus. The Guy came out a few minutes later. He said, �I was hoping you�d still be here.� Then he reached out and stroked my hair (how cheeky!), and told me he loved the new style. (I recently got it cut a little shorter.) I became even more uncomfortable when he told me I have beautiful eyes.

When he asked if he could call me, I responded that my husband wouldn�t like that very much. He backed off immediately, and apologized profusely. A quick glance at the ring finger on my left hand could have spared us both this awkward situation.

Song of the Day: Hokey Pokey

last ~ next

7 comments so far

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com